Pear Charlotte

pear, saffron, charlotte, lady finger, yoghurt

Recipes and photos to be blogged are getting more and more numerous and I feel sadder and sadder that I just can’t find the time to post all that I have prepared.
And September does not seem to allow me more time for my little blog, but at least there will be some events that I am looking forward to: my baby goes to school next Monday (she is not a baby anymore), I will have my birthday at the end of the month and on Friday I will be part of something I have been waiting for a long time. I will tell more when it will be over and with some great results hopefully. Till then I am leaving you with a slice of saffron pear charlotte, which was like my goodbye to summer.

pear, saffron, charlotte, lady finger, yoghurt

For the ladyfingers

100 g flour sifted
30 g cornstarch
6 eggs separated
200 g sugar
saffron threads
salt
powdered sugar for sprinkling on top

Preheat the oven at 175 degrees C.
Sift together the flour, cornstarch and flours.
In a clean bowl whip the yolks with half of the sugar and the saffron threads until thick and pale. Set aside.
Beat the egg whites to soft peaks and gradually add the rest of the sugar, beating until you have a nice, shinny meringue.
Add the flour to the yolks but do not mix it in. Add 1/3 of the whites over the flour and yolks and incorporate gently the three. Add the rest of the whites and carefully fold them in.
Transfer the batter to a pastry bag and pipe whatever form and dimension you want – I piped a 20 cm circle as the base and I piped connected 10 cm long fingers to fit the diameter of my ring.
Bake for about 10-12 minutes until golden. Let cool completely.

pear, saffron, charlotte, lady finger, yoghurt

For the saffron poached pears

4 pears
1l water
saffron threads
100g sugar
30 ml lemon juice
vanilla bean

Place everything except the pears over medium heat until the sugar is dissolved.
Peel and core (I didn’t core them) the pears and add them to the syrup. Cover the pot, lower the heat and let them simmer for 10-15 minutes until soft. Drain the pears from the syrup, let cool ant then cut them into cubes.

For the cream cheese mousse

4 yolks
130 g sugar
80 ml water
10 g gelatin
500 g cream cheese (I used a mixture of mascarpone, yoghurt and cream cheese)
500 ml whipped cream
vanilla bean

Place the gelatin with some cold water and let it bloom. Whip the heavy cream and set aside. Place the cream cheese and yogurt at room temperature. Place them in a clean bowl and on medium speed whip them until creamy. Set aside.
Place the yolks in a bowl and whip them a bit. Place the sugar, vanilla bean and the water in a covered pot over medium high heat until the sugar dissolves. Uncover and let it cook to 240 degrees F (122 degrees C). Melt the gelatin in the microwave. Remove the vanilla bean and scrape the seeds over the yolks. Pour the sugar syrup over the yolks while beating on medium speed. Pour in the gelatin as well and continue whipping until the mixture is cold and thick. Slowly fold in the cheese-yogurt mixture. Then fold in the cream.

For the pear chocolate ganache

100 g white chocolate
50 g pear puree
20 g cream
10 g butter

Puree 50 g of poached pears. Add the puree and cream over low heat and bring to a boil.
Place the chocolate in a clean bowl. When the pear-cream mixture boils, pour it over the chocolate. Let stand for a minute. Mix gently until smooth. Add the softened butter. Let cool to room temperature.

For the undermixed saffron macarons

I used the same recipe and method as here, added a few saffron threads to the sugar almond mixture and made a few mistakes:🙂. They were very good however with the pear chocolate ganache.

pear, saffron, charlotte, lady finger, yoghurt

To assemble
Line your cake ring with rhodoid or plastic wrap. Place the ladyfinger circle on the bottom and line the sides with as many ladyfingers as fit.
Brush the bottom and the sides with reserved poaching syrup. Pipe half of the mousse. Top with the diced pears. Pipe the rest of the mousse and level well. Refrigerate until set.
Decorate with macarons filled with pear ganache and be happy!
This is also my entry in the “LiveSTRONG With A Taste Of Yellow 2009” event.

5 responses to “Pear Charlotte

  1. wow this look delicious! Thar pear with saffron threads looks so nice!
    I m eager to see your creations for your birthday🙂

    visit my new blog with lots of recipes at http://snookysrecipedoodles.blogspot.com/

  2. Love the color the saffron makes. Gorgeous.

  3. Anda that first photo is gorgeous. Thank you fpor supporting A Taste Of Yellow.

  4. I love the glorious yellow saffron provides. I am definitely going to give this one a go.

  5. That is just so beautiful. I don’t know if I’d have the patience to make anything so complicated, but I do admire your cooking skills and photography.

Leave a Reply

