Tiramisu tarts with coffee chocolate sauce

tiramisu, coffee, dipping sauce

Running faster each day, doing more things at once, planning, thinking ahead, constantly busy with something. No time to sit back, to do nothing, to empty your mind, to breathe. And then I question myself, what would I do if I would have a day to sit back, to do nothing. Would I be able to do it? “Slow down” – that’s what I hear quite often and I wonder if I should. But would that be good? Or maybe I am one of those people who just can’t slow down. In fact I don’t feel the need to slow down. I am afraid that I would not be myself anymore if I would just sit and …..?
This is how I feel alive. And a good doze of coffee is always welcome. But, make it strong please….

As these days I rediscovered how much I love baking tarts, I had to put the coffee into something tart-esque. So, I made a cocoa tart dough, a mascarpone cream and topped everything with a caffeinated chocolate rum sauce, from Elizabeth Falkner. I decorated everything with “tiramisu” macarons, for a touch of fanciness🙂.
These are really easy to make and are a great dessert for boosting your energy.

For the tart shells

I used this recipe from Aran, at Cannelle et Vanille.

For the mascarpone cream

3 egg yolks
65 g sugar
50 ml water
250 g mascarpone
250 g whipped cream
2 tbsp rum

Make a pate a bombe from the yolks and sugar (heat the sugar and water to 240 degrees F and slowly drizzle it over the yolks while beating on medium until the mixture is thick and cool).
Separately, beat the mascarpone with the rum until creamy. Mix the cooled pate a bombe with the mascarpone. Slowly incorporate the whipped cream.

blackberry, tart, puff pastry, chocolate puff pastry

For the chocolate coffee sauce
*adapted from Elizabeth Falkner

120 ml cup heavy cream
40 g honey
15 g cocoa powder
112 g bittersweet chocolate, chopped into pieces
45 ml hot and strong brewed espresso
25 g butter
30 ml rum
pinch of salt

Combine the cream, honey and cocoa powder in a saucepan. Heat over medium heat until mixture starts to simmer.

Place the chocolate in a metal bowl and pour hot espresso over it. Pour the hot cream mixture over it and stir until the chocolate is melted and everything is combined.

Add in the butter, rum, and salt, and stir until butter is melted. Let cool to room temperature. If making it in advance, store in the refrigerator and reheat slightly before using as the sauce will thicken.

To assemble
Put about 1 tbsp of sauce on the bottom of each shell. Then pipe or spoon mascarpone cream up to the top. Drizzle the tarts with some more sauce.

For the coffee macarons
90 g old egg whites (Mine were 4 days old)
30 g granulated sugar
110 g powdered almonds
200 g powdered sugar
espresso powder (about 3-4 g)

Preheat the oven at 150 degrees C.
In a food processor mix the powdered sugar, espresso and almonds until very fine.
Beat the egg whites until foamy (not stiff). Add the sugar and beat just a bit more, until shinny. Add the almond mixture to the egg whites. Fold them quickly (4-5 strokes) and them gently. Do not overmix them – the batter should be able to hold its shape when dropped from the spoon for a few seconds.
Pipe rounds on a parchment paper lined baking sheet (leave some distance between them as they will spread a little). Let them out for about 30-40 minutes until they are no longer sticky – when touched you should feel that a crust has formed. Put 2 other trays one on top of the other and place the macaron baking sheet on them. Bake for about 15 minutes, depending on their size.

Let them cool and pipe some mascarpone cream between 2 same sized macarons. Pop the first one in your mouth and be happy.
*Note: a big thank you to Helene for presenting to me the macaron magic

7 responses to “Tiramisu tarts with coffee chocolate sauce

  1. Yum Yum Yum!!! Some great looking macarons! I am in awe! I’m still too scared to try them for myself!

  2. YUMMY JUST DELICIOUS!

  3. I found your blog through kayotic kitchen, and I’m so glad that I did! Honestly would’ve never thought of tiramisu tarts! and your photos are BEAUTIFUL!🙂

  4. Thank you very much for your compliments.

  5. What a great idea for a tart! I love that. Tiramisu is a wonderful dessert.

  6. Thank you so much!

  7. These look fantastic – what a creative twist on tiramisu!

Leave a Reply

