White chocolate mousse and coffee caramel cake

Happy Mother’s Day to all moms out there!
Even if we celebrate Mother’s Day on March 8th, I personally celebrate being a mom every minute of my life and my daughter is my most precious gift I could have gotten: every word she says, every smile she offers, every kiss she gives me. She gives sense to my life, she teaches me to view life through her innocent eyes, she is just marvelous.
She loves helping me out in the kitchen in any way she can: she cracks eggs, measures ingredients, tastes whatever we do together. She is amazed to see how things happen: how sugar caramelizes, how eggs and a sugar syrup become marshmallowy, how chocolate melts and hardens again to coat our desserts. I love that she already has preferences and tries to pair flavors. The desert we made this past weekend contains flavors that she loves: chocolate, caramel and coffee. It became her favorite cake, and she ate 2 portions in 10 minutes (which is totally unlike her)🙂.

For the chocolate cake
I used this recipe. I doubled it and baked 2 29*38 cm pans.

For the white chocolate cardamom mousse
This is from the wonderful Aran
3 egg yolks
112 g sugar
30 g honey
60 ml water
130 g white chocolate
340 ml whipped cream
6 g gelatin + 30 ml water
1 tsp ground cardamom
Place the sugar, honey and water into a pan and over medium high heat cook them to 115 C (240 F).
Place the yolks into a clean bowl and whip them until pale. Add the sugar syrup while still beating the yolks. Whip this mixture until it is pale, thick and cool.

Place the gelatin and water in a bowl and let it bloom.
Melt the chocolate over a pot of hot water. Set aside.
Whip the cream and cardamom together – not fully. Melt the gelatin and slowly add it to the cream and whip just until combined.
Measure 85 g from the yolk mixture above and add it to the cream. Them add the melted chocolate and slowly fold it in.

For the coffee caramel syrup

150 g sugar
75 g honey
60 ml water
15 ml strong espresso
40 g salted butter

Place the first 3 ingredients in a pan over medium heat and stir until the sugar is dissolved. Rise the temperature and let them cook until thicker (about 5 minutes) and they start to become caramel in color.
Remove from heat and add the coffee. Add the butter and stir it in. Let it cool.

To assemble

Remove the cake layers from the freezer. Cut each one in half.
Place the first layer on your cake board and pipe 1/3 of the white chocolate over. Spread it evenly. Drizzle 1/3 of the caramel syrup over. Very carefully place the next layer and repeat.
Place the cake in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour. To cut it, dip your knife in water.

8 responses to “White chocolate mousse and coffee caramel cake

  1. ce bun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. It’s half hour to midnight here, how I wish I had this cake in front of me to devour before I hit the sack. It looks soft and melt in your mouth type. Delicious looking!

  3. 🙂 Foarte bun.

  4. Thanks for stopping by. I can offer you a virtual slice.

  5. oh the flavour must be awesome. Looks delicious🙂

  6. Thank you. You are always so nice.

  7. I WANT SOME NOW!!!! I BET I WON’T BE ABLE TO MAKE IT TOMORROW😦
    I’LL TRY ANYWAY

  8. I am sure you will be able (you’r my sis so don’t mess up :)). Anyway I’m here to help.

Leave a Reply

