Chocolate cake sandwiches and a thank you

I love baking and I guess that is not a surprise to anyone by now. I am taking (better said searching :)) every opportunity I get to bake something.
As I did not have a family tradition with baking, I had to rely an books and on talented food bloggers to develop some skills. Each one I “met” helped me in one or another, but I fully understood what baking is all about after coming across Helen. She is talented, creative and an excellent baker. Only by looking at what she does you can see it is all done with love and devotion.


When I saw her last post, I felt the urge to try it myself. It was a wonderful idea and even if I just used the form and not the content, the cake sandwiches were wonderful. So, Helen thank you for all the wonderful things that come out of your hands and I really looking forward to your book.


For the cocoa graham cookies
225 g butter, at room temperature
100 g powdered sugar
130 g flour
140 g whole-grain graham flour
15 g cocoa powder
¼ tsp salt
½ tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 175 degrees.
Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Cream butter and sugar together, about 3 minutes until fluffy. Add the flours, cocoa, salt, baking powder and vanilla. Mix them until incorporated.
Roll dough on a lightly floured flat surface to 6 mm thick. Cut out circles or any other form with a cookie cutter. Transfer to the prepared baking sheet and bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on a wire rack.

For the chocolate espresso cake
recipe from Tartellete

110 g butter
200g brown sugar
45g cocoa powder
2 eggs
185g flour
5g baking powder
5g espresso powder (you can use more or less depending on your taste)
2.5g baking soda
250ml warm water

You can use 2 20-22 cm pans for the above amount. I have used a 29×38 cm pan for this one and cut out flowers out of it.
Preheat your oven at 165 degrees Celsius. Butter the pans you plan to use and line their bottom with greased parchment paper.
Cream together the soft butter and the sugar to get a creamy mixture. With your mixer on low speed add the cocoa powder gradually. When the cocoa is properly blended in, add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.
Add the previously sifted flour, baking powder, baking soda and espresso powder and slowly blend everything while gradually adding the water to the mixture. Divide the batter between your pans and bake for 30-40 minutes (a toothpick inserted in the center should come out clean). Let the cake cool in the pan for a while and then remove it and let cool on a wire rack.

For the syrup
25 ml coffee
15 ml Khalua
25 ml water
sugar to taste

Bring the water, coffee and sugar to a boil. Off the stove, add the liqueur.

For the chocolate mousse
180 ml cream
10-12 (100g) caramels
260 g bitter sweet chocolate
15 ml Bailey’s cream
150 ml whipped cream

Bring the cream and caramels to a boil until the caramels are melted. In a clean bowl chop the chocolate and add the warm cream over it. Let stand for a while, then add the liqueur and whisk until smooth and the chocolate is completely melted. Let cool and then add the whipped cream.

To assemble

Spread chocolate mousse over the cookies. Brush the cake flowers with syrup. Place a bit of black currant jam over the cakes (on both sides) and put all 3 pieces together (cookie/cake/cookie). Place in the fridge for the mousse to set and enjoy near a strong cup of coffee.


5 responses to “Chocolate cake sandwiches and a thank you

  1. wow layers of delicious chocolate. I love the different textures of these sandwiches🙂 I don’t have a family of bakers either😦

  2. I was astonished myself when I saw the ideea on Helen’s blog. I used other recipes but the result was as expected.

  3. This looks so delicious. I think Im going to try these this weekend.

  4. Please let me know how they turn out if you try them.

  5. I really wish to try these – my own blog is divided into Chocolate and non-chocolate sections😛

Leave a Reply

