Coffee addiction and a new twist on tiramisu

“Coffee falls into the stomach … ideas begin to move, things remembered arrive at full gallop … the shafts of wit start up like sharp-shooters, similes arise, the paper is covered with ink …”
~ Honoré de Balzac~
I love coffee, the smell of it tingling my nostrils wakes my senses and gives me comfort for the whole day. Lately though, my life has been so hectic that coffee not only pleases my senses in the morning but it keeps me moving.
The funny thing is that my little girl enjoys the smell of coffee as much as i do and loves biter sweet desserts. If she were to choose between a milk chocolate cake or mousse and biter sweet/ coffee ones she would definitely go with the last ones.


Coffee and bittersweet chocolate are also part of many desserts we make at home. This time we tried a twist (not the first one) on the classic tiramisu: we used a flour less chocolate genoise paired with the coffee mascarpone divine cream.


For the cake layers
*the amounts are for 2*24cm pans. When I use them for a more festive cake, I make 4 layers so I double everything
170 g bittersweet chocolate , chopped
3 tablespoons water (~30ml)
6 eggs, separated, at room temperature
130 g sugar
10 g unsweetened cocoa powder (to sprinkle on the baked cakes to prevent sticking)

Preheat oven to 175 degrees. Grease 2 24 cm pans and line bottoms of circles with a piece of parchment paper.

Place the water and chopped chocolate in a clean, dry pan and melt it over very low heat. Let it cool and in the mean time, beat the yolks with half of the sugar until they are thick and pale in color (about 5-8 minutes). If chocolate cooled, add it to the yolks.

Beat the whites to soft peaks. Add the remaining sugar gradually to the whites until stiff peaks form.

Fold 1/3 of whites into the chocolate/ yolk mixture taking care not to deflate the batter.
Fold in the rest of the whites.

Divide the batter between the 2 prepared pans and bake for 15-18 minutes (the top of the cake must be dry to touch).

Before removing the layers from the pans, sift cocoa powder on top. Place a piece of parchment paper on a baking sheet, place it over the pan and invert the cake onto it. Repeat with the 2nd layer. When completely cool, place the cake layers in the freezer for about an hour to firm up.

For the mascarpone cream
Use the frosting from here, but double it.


To assemble

Take the cake layers out of the freezer. Place the first one with the cocoa side up, spread half of the cream over. Place the second layer, still cocoa side up. Spread the rest of the cream and decorate as you see fit (I used chocolate shavings).
Place in the fridge and enjoy.


5 responses to “Coffee addiction and a new twist on tiramisu

  1. so so good! Tiramisu is my favourite dessert since I discovered ot . This is making me drool I want some !

  2. Great site this andaoana.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor🙂

  3. terrific site this andaoana.wordpress.com excellent to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor🙂

  4. Pingback: White chocolate mousse and coffee caramel cake « SweetToothFairy Blog

  5. Pingback: Lemon and Cardamom Chocolate Mousse Cakes « SweetToothFairy Blog

Leave a Reply

