Healthy eating with whole wheat tortillas

As you all might already know, I like breads or bread like food. Tortillas are no exception. These are always my “to go” food for quick lunches or even breakfasts.
They are so unsophisticated and can be filled with anything (haven’t yet tried sweet fillings, but I am sure I could find some good match).


I haven’t wrote about them until now, because I always wanted to blog about more “exotic stuff” and these looked too ordinary for me. But they are not, trust me. I learned this myself and now I am sorry I did not post them earlier.


These are perfect for kids, at least my little one loves them stuffed with spicy grilled meat (either chicken, pork or veal), grated mozarella, sweet corn, red bell peppers and tomato sauce.
Hubby likes them with lots of guacamole, shredded pork, grated emmentaler, red onion rings, red bell pepper and salsa. And that’s what he has in his lunchbox for today.


For the tortillas
390 g flour (i have made them with a mix of all purpose-140g and whole wheat – 250g, but they are great with only one of them)
10 ml olive oil
6-7 g salt
265 ml warm milk
13g baking powder
Mix all the above ingridients and then kned for a couple of minutes until you get a smooth, elastc, firm dough.
Place the ball of dough on a cutting board and cover it with a dump towel and let it rest for about 20 minutes.
Make balls out of the dough (50g are mine), place them on the board, cover with the same towel and let them rest for 10 minutes, so the gluten relaxes and makes them easier to roll.
Heat a pan (do not oil/ butter it) on medium. Lightly flour the work surface and roll you balls into thin circles. Place them in the pan for 30-40 s per side – you will know they are ready when bubbles form on the surface and they start to get slightly brownish.
Tortillas can be kept in the fridge well wrapped and reheated when needed but have their best taste when eaten right after being made.


As I made more of them yesterday evening, I am having them as breakfast and as lunch.
For breakfast they are filled with: shredded carrots, shredded cabbage, a few shrimps, strips of red bell peppers all mixed with creme fraiche and topped with a bit of salsa.
For lunch: grilled pork tenderloin, sauteed mushrooms, green salad leaves, cucumber sticks and salsa of course.


4 responses to “Healthy eating with whole wheat tortillas

  1. yummy. these surely look delicious. Nice way of eating healthy .🙂

  2. So happy to have found this recipe this morning! I am tired of buying tortillas that are no only less than stellar but also full of preservatives! Thank you!

  3. I am glad I managed to help you as you have been my inspiration for so many times. I have your blog always open and refresh it daily to see what’s new. By the way, good luck with the book and I am really looking forward to adding it to my cookbook collection.

  4. […]If you able to always stay on your healthy eating plan you’ll feel that eating healthy foods isn’t a diet but it’ll become your living habit[…]

Leave a Reply

