Smile, you lovely macaron


Smile, my darling macaron as I am smiling that I finally had the courage to try you. And I am glad I did…
Time and time again, I would have everything prepared for the macarons: aged egg whites, almond flour ready, but I always stopped: I didn’t want to mess it up. They are to precious, to nice to deserve being messed up.
But now, I showed them to my sweetie C and she said she wanted a bite and there came my courage. I made each step as studied many times before and in the end the waiting was worth it. They are my ultimate cookie love: sweet, crunchy on the outside, somehow chewy in the inside.


For the cookies:
90 g egg whites (24-48 hours old – separated from their yolks)
30 g granulated sugar
200 g powdered sugar
110 g almonds

Beat the egg whites till they are foamy. Then add the sugar slowly, until the whites become thick and glossy. (over beating can dry them too much and ruin your cookies, so be careful).
In a food processor ground the almonds and then add the powdered sugar and pulse a couple of times. Pass the mixture through a sieve.
Add the almonds and sugar to the whites, folding quick (3-4 times) at the beginning and then carefully until fully incorporated (no more then 50 folds) – the batter is supposed to form a ribbon when you drop it from a spoon and to flatten by itself if dropped on parchment paper.
Put the batter in the pastry bag and make small rounds on the parchment paper covering the baking sheet. Leave the cookies at room temperature for 30-60 minutes to harden their shells.
Preheat the oven at 150 degrees Celsius and bake the sweeties for 20-25 minutes, making sure you rotate the sheet at half time or so.
Let them cool down and then they can be stored in an airtight container for a few days at room temperature or frozen for later use.

For the filling I made 3 flavor ganaches: the minty chocolate, the caffeinated and the boozy orange chocolate.
Making the ganache is quite simple – check this recipe and then you can add any flavor you might think of.


3 responses to “Smile, you lovely macaron

  1. Pingback: A strong cake and a birthday- Matcha&chocolate « SweetToothFairy Blog

  2. Pingback: We have a winner - meet S, the sandie « SweetToothFairy Blog

  3. Pingback: Pear Charlotte « SweetToothFairy Blog

Leave a Reply

