Croissants – chocolate croissants

I love croissants. I love making them and I love having one on a Sunday morning with a cup of milk. I have made them very often, but I wanted to see how a chocolate croissant would be. And I mean a chocolate croissant and not a chocolate filled croissant. So I started searching the internet for a recipe. I didn’t want cocoa in the dough but chocolate. So I started experimenting. And the result was just amazing. They are the best croissant I have had in my life. I have made them several times now and just once I got to take a few pictures.
What I tried was to make chocolate butter as the butter package. I tried different chocolate to butter proportions, but I settled to 50-50.

For the dough

510 g flour
35 g butter
salt (about 8 g)
65 g sugar
4 g instant dry yeast
245 ml milk (the original asked for powdered milk and water)

For the tournage chocolate butter
100 g chocolate butter for the first 2 turns
100 g chocolate butter for the last 2 turns

Mix all ingredients, minus the tournage butter and knead for about 5 minutes until you have a satiny, elastic dough.
Roll the dough to fit an oven tray, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 2 hours.
Remove the dough from the refrigerator, and roll it to be twice longer than wide. Spread 100 g of chocolate butter over 2/3 of the dough (cut the butter in small flakes). Bring the butter less 1/3 of dough over the center and then the buttery 1/3 still on the center (simple tour). Roll the dough again (have the opening on your left) to be again twice as long as its width. Now, fold the dough as you did before, but without adding extra butter. Roll the dough again on its length, place it in the tray, cover and refrigerate for 2 hours.
After 2 hours, remove the dough from the refrigerator and repeat all the steps above with the remaining 100 g of butter.
Roll the dough and refrigerate for at least 1 hour before shaping it.

Shape and bake

When ready to shape and bake, remove dough from the fridge and divide it in 2 parts (return one to the fridge).
Roll the dough into a rectangle (mine was 25/ 40 cm). Cut into triangles: I wanted mine not very big, so I cut the dough once lengthwise, then in 4 on the width, resulting 8 rectangles. Then, I cut each rectangle diagonally. Roll the croissants (do not roll them too tight) and place on a baking tray lined with parchment paper. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let them proof for at least 2 hours.
Heat the oven to 190 degrees Celsius. Brush the croissants with egg wash (1 egg lightly beaten). Bake them for about 10-15 minutes, rotate the tray, lower the temperature to 180 and bake for 10 more minutes (or more depending on their size).

For the chocolate butter

Melt 110 g butter together with 110g chocolate over a double broiler. Pour in silicon molds and refrigerate until solid.

9 responses to “Croissants – chocolate croissants

  1. What a great idea! If my boyfriend can talk me into making croissants at home I’ll have to do this. ;)

  2. They made me very very hungry! They are perfect!

  3. Woahhhhhhhh. I wish I would have never been exposed to this type of croissant because now I will have to make them haha. Your croissants are beautiful!

  4. Beautiful croissants! Lovely swirl of chocolate. Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

  5. Wonderful! What is the timing on these? If you want to bake them in the morning, how much can you do ahead? I guess you have to get up early enough to proof them for 2 hr after shaping? Thanks.

  6. @Beki: Preparing the dough takes about 15 minutes+ 1h proofing plus at least 30 minutes chilling. The turns take about 20 minutes each plus about 30 minutes chilling. That can be done in the afternoon. Then you shape the croissants, cover them and place them in the fridge. If I want them for breakfast, I just set my clock to 4 am, take them out of the fridge and go back to sleep. Then at 6 or 6.30 when I wake up, I bake them. Good luck with them and tell me if you decide to make them.

  7. It has been a long time since I had some great croissants. I wish I had time to make them, they look fantastic!

  8. I never got around to thanking you for the additional explanation on these; I will make them some day. Maybe for Valentimes; that’s not too far away.

  9. Anda,
    Yes I did! I made it from scratch like you did too. I also love (almost addicted) to make puff pastry as well. In fact they are becoming a staple in my home. I always have a batch of the each dough in my freezer, when they are finish I start making it again.

    Here they are, see if you like them:
    http://elrasbaking.blogspot.com/2009/09/chocolate-croissant-dough.html

    http://elrasbaking.blogspot.com/2009/12/chocolate-croissant-for-chocalholic.html

    http://elrasbaking.blogspot.com/2009/03/chocolate-puff-pastry.html

    I guess we both really love chocolate pastry, huh? Maybe we can bake together one day.
    Cheers,
    elra

Leave a Reply

