Happy birthday Dad

As I said before, September and October are special months for me. Busy, full, but so very special. In October I celebrate both my parents and also my sweet, lovely (bunny) daughter.
This past weekend, my sis and I planned a surprise party for dad’s 60th birthday. It was so tiring, driving 1200 km in 2 days, but it was so worthy – we were all together (mom, dad, my sis, her kids, me, M and my daughter) again after 6 years. It was short, but overwhelming and full of sweet memories. We stayed in my grandparents house, the house where I grew up, the house that brings me back to my childhood and it feels as if my grandparents are there again. I can hear their voices, feel their touch and go back to being a child for a few seconds.
I also had a real fruit feast. At my parents house, autumn means trees loaded with apples and quinces, grapes and as of late figs – the best I have eaten in my life. I brought 2 bags home with me and I am planning to make us some fig tarts. I also saved some to eat with my yogurt in the morning.
Among other things (salmon mascarpone filled vol au vents, mushroom thyme filled vol au vents, sushi, empanadas, sheep and pork steaks) we had vanilla macarons with salted caramel ganache, a vanilla and caramel mousse chocolate cake and a mango and matcha mousse cake.

For the cake layer

4 eggs
120 g sugar
53 g flour
53 g cornstarch
15 g cacao powder
15 g melted and cooled butter

Preheat the oven at 185 degrees C. Butter and line with parchment paper a 29*38 cm pan.
Sift the cocoa, flour and cornstarch and set aside. Put the eggs and the sugar in a heat proof bowl and place it over a pan with simmering water (the bowl should not touch the water). Mix the eggs until they are 35 degrees C. Take off the heat and whip them until they triple in volume. Add the flour mixture and gently fold it in taking care not to deflate the butter. Add the melted butter and mix it in taking care not to leave butter on the bottom. Pour the batter in the prepared pan and bake for about 10 minutes or until the cake springs back when gently pressed with a finger. Remove from the oven and cover with parchment paper. Invert the cake onto a cool pan. Cool completely. Remove parchment paper.

For the syrup
100 ml coffee
30-50 ml Kahlua or other coffee liqueur
sugar (to taste)

For the mango mousse

4 egg yolks
130 g sugar
50 ml water
8 g gelatin powder
300 g mango puree
320 ml whipping cream

Place the gelatin and water to bloom.
Whip the cream to soft peaks and refrigerate.
Place the sugar and water in a pan over medium high heat, cover it and boil until all sugar is dissolved. Uncover the pan and cook the sugar syrup to 238 degrees F.
When the syrup is ready, melt the gelatin in the microwave.
Whip the yolks while slowly pouring the sugar syrup over. Next add the melted gelatin while still mixing. Continue beating the yolks until tripled in volume, thick and cool.
Add the mango puree and slowly blend it in. Add the whipped cream and incorporate it gently.

For the matcha mousse

4 egg yolks
5 g gelatin
130 g sugar
50 ml water
320 ml heavy cream
vanilla bean
20 g matcha powder (use more or less depending on how strong you like it)

Place the water, sugar and vanilla bean in a pan, cover it and bring to boil over medium high heat. When it boils, uncover it, lower the heat and let it cook to 238 F. In the meantime soften the gelatin in some water and whisk the yolks. Place the softened gelatin on a water bath or in the microwave and melt it.
Once the sugar syrup reaches 238 F, remove the bean (you can scrape it later into the mousse), and with the slowly pour the syrup over the yolks while mixing. Next, pour the gelatin over the yolks and continue mixing until the mixture increases the volume, thickens and cools.
Whip the cream and matcha together and carefully fold the mixture into the yolks.

To assemble

Place the cake layer on a piece of parchment paper, inside your cake ring. Brush with coffee syrup. Pipe the matcha mousse and spread it evenly. Refrigerate for a while until set. Pipe the mango mousse over and level it as good as you can. Refrigerate overnight (to ease cutting I always freeze mine).
To cut the cake, use a very sharp knife and dip it in warm water before each cut

5 responses to “Happy birthday Dad

  1. Happy birthday to your dad. This mousse cake looks so nice and yummy :) Eager to see the fig tarts :)

  2. That sounds like the perfect dessert for a celebration!

  3. Happy Birthday to your Dad and bon app├ętit qith the gorgeous cake!!!!

  4. This is a beautiful blog that you have. I love the photography and the recipe look incredible. Nice work and nice family! Congrats. :)

  5. Happy belated birthday to your dad. Hope he liked the cake! :D

Leave a Reply

