Mallows: if you dare

Hmm, what a strange month and what a strange going challenge.
I kept postponing the challenge until I realized it was already the 26th and no postponing was available, so I put up my sleeves and got to work.

As normal, I started with the dough. But the dough was sticky, really sticky. I refrigerated it, but after 1 hour, nothing changed. I put it in the freezer and after half an hour it was acceptable. So, I rolled, cut and baked the cookies.
Then, I started working on the marshmallow. I used a tried and tested recipe (from Dorie Greenspan). It all went ok, but as it was really hot and I was nervous from the cookies I went to the garage to punch the “stress reliever” bag and when I got back, the marshmallow was not pipeable anymore. I could heat a little of course, but I have used cocoa nibs chocolate chunks inside so heating would have ruined everything.
I had no more time to start over, so I decided to treat the mallows as molded cakes. So I tempered chocolate, coated my molds, spooned marshmallow inside, topped with the cookie and voila – mallow bombes :).

They are tasty, but I do not think I will go back to them soon or at least until I forget the “nice” experience.

The mandatory text:
“The July Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Nicole at Sweet Tooth. She chose Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies and Milan Cookies from pastry chef Gale Gand of the Food Network.”

For the lemon basil cookies
Prep Time: 10 min
Inactive Prep Time: 5 min
Cook Time: 10 min
Serves: about 2 dozen cookies

• 3 cups (375grams/13.23oz) all purpose flour
• 1/2 cup (112.5grams/3.97oz) white sugar
• 1/2 teaspoon salt
• 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
• 3/8 teaspoon baking soda
• 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I used 10 g lemon basil leaves)
• 12 tablespoons (170grams/ 6 oz) unsalted butter
• 3 eggs, whisked together

Before following the recipe as noted below, I placed the sugar and basil leaves in a food processor, and pulsed a few times until the leaves are well chopped.
1. In a mixer with the paddle attachment, blend the dry ingredients.
2. On low speed, add the butter and mix until sandy.
3. Add the eggs and mix until combine.
4. Form the dough into a disk, wrap with clingfilm or parchment and refrigerate at least 1 hour and up to 3 days.
5. When ready to bake, grease a cookie sheet or line it with parchment paper or a silicon mat.
6. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
7. Roll out the dough to 1/8-inch thickness, on a lightly floured surface. Use a 1 to 1 1/2 inches cookie cutter to cut out small rounds of dough.
8. Transfer to the prepared pan and bake for 10 minutes or until light golden brown. Let cool to room temperature.

For the marshmallow
Note: I used Dorie’s recipe and added 100 g of cocoa nib chocolate chunks

• 1/4 cup water
• 1/4 cup light corn syrup
• 3/4 cup (168.76 grams/5.95oz) sugar
• 1 tablespoon powdered gelatin
• 2 tablespoons cold water
• 2 egg whites , room temperature
• 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1. In a saucepan, combine the water, corn syrup, and sugar, bring to a boil until “soft-ball” stage, or 235 degrees on a candy thermometer.
2. Sprinkle the gelatin over the cold water and let dissolve.
3. Remove the syrup from the heat, add the gelatin, and mix.
4. Whip the whites until soft peaks form and pour the syrup into the whites.
5. Add the vanilla and continue whipping until stiff.
6. Transfer to a pastry bag.

For the chocolate glaze
Note: I just tempered 500g chocolate and used it to coat the molds

• 12 ounces semisweet chocolate
• 2 ounces cocoa butter or vegetable oil

1. Melt the 2 ingredients together in the top of a double boiler or a bowl set over barely simmering water.

To assemble
1. Pipe a “kiss” of marshmallow onto each cookie. Let set at room temperature for 2 hours.
2. Line a cookie sheet with parchment or silicon mat.
3. One at a time, gently drop the marshmallow-topped cookies into the hot chocolate glaze.
4. Lift out with a fork and let excess chocolate drip back into the bowl.
5. Place on the prepared pan and let set at room temperature until the coating is firm, about 1 to 2 hours.

14 responses to “Mallows: if you dare

  1. They look beautiful!!! Sorry you had trouble with the heat and such — but it sure doesn’t show!

  2. Very ingenious! I’m glad in the end they did set up quite well :)

  3. Your cookies look great! Amazing cover up idea. If it were me, I’d be pulling my hair out, and would probably have thrown it all in the bin!

  4. Hi! Your mallows came out looking great!! Would never have known you had any troubles!

  5. Your mallows look absolutely delicious and great pictures as well.

  6. They look delicious!
    They are so cute with the chocolate drizzle.
    I’m sorry they didn’t worked for you.

  7. I just eat to relieve stress..must get a punching bag..lol Regardless, love the lemon basil cookie, and the Mallow Bombes are gorgeous, as are the photos. Verrrrry creative considering the situation of Marshmallow that won’t budge! Would love to taste one!

  8. Gorgeous mallows…love the drizzle!

  9. Even though they gave you a tough time, they look soooooooo good! I mean, I definitely wouldn’t mind eating a few :)

  10. culinography

    Mallow bombes! What a perfect way to make it work!! And they’re SO cute!!

  11. These are so pretty, lemon and basil is a great flavor pair!

  12. I know :). I am growing my own lemon basil plant.

  13. Pe blogurile romanesti se poarta datul primiilor. Am primit si eu unu, si ti-l daruiesc in primul rand tie. Mi-ai fost, si inca esti,mentorul meu si prietena mea. Asa ca accepta-l impreuna cu toata recunostinta mea.

  14. bakingobsession

    They look wonderful! Dorie’s recipe is far better; now I can compare :)

Leave a Reply

