Vacation and a blueberry chamomile cake

rose mousse, napoleon, chocolate puff pastry

VACATION!!!!
We are flying to Cyprus in the morning and I just can’t wait to leave. I miss the sea so much, I miss not having anything to do, anywhere to get in time to. I miss walking the streets with no final point, I miss discovering people and places, having my mind empty. No emails, no meetings, no deadlines, for 10 days.
I haven’t packed yet. I needed to take care of the blueberries that were sitting in the fridge first. I could have frozen them you might say. And you are right, I could have. But then, it wouldn’t be me.
I turned them into a refreshing blueberry mousse paired with chamomile and it felt like I was fair to them: they did not deserve the “freeze” attitude.

For the blueberry cake

280 g flour, sifted
8 g baking powder
130 g brown sugar
2 large eggs
80 g butter melted and cool
240 g yogurt
150 g blueberries

Preheat the oven at 175 C. Butter and line with parchment paper a 29*38 cm baking sheet.
Sift together the flour and the baking powder. Add the sugar.
In a separate bowl combine the eggs, yogurt and butter. Add the wet ingredients to the flour mixture. Mix until combined. Add the blueberries and gently fold them into the batter.
Bake the cake for about 20 minutes or until a tester comes out clean. Let it cool to room temperature.

rose mousse, napoleon, chocolate puff pastry

For the blueberry mousse

5 g gelatin+ cold water
250 g blueberries
40 g sugar
200 g whipped cream

Place the gelatin in the water and let it bloom.
Puree the blueberries. Add the sugar and place on medium heat. When the sugar is dissolved add the gelatin and mix until melted. Let the blueberries cool to room temperature. Gently fold in the whipped cream.

For the chamomile mousse
3 egg yolks
4 g gelatin
50 g water
100 g sugar
250 g whipped cream
15 g dried chamomile buds

Place the water, sugar and chamomile buds in a pan, cover it and bring to boil over medium high heat. When it boils, uncover it, lower the heat and let it cook to 238 F. In the meantime soften the gelatin in some water and whisk the yolks. Place the softened gelatin on a water bath or in the microwave and melt it.
Once the sugar syrup reaches 238 F, remove the buds , and slowly pour the syrup over the yolks while mixing. Next, pour the gelatin over the yolks and continue mixing until the mixture increases in volume, thickens and cools.
Add the whipped cream and carefully fold it into the yolks.

For the chamomile syrup
150 g water
1-2 tbsp chamomile buds
sugar to taste

Boil the water with the sugar. Add the buds, cover the pan and let them steep for 15 minutes. Drain the syrup.

rose mousse, napoleon, chocolate puff pastry

rose mousse, napoleon, chocolate puff pastry

To assemble

Cut out a 24 cm circle from the cake. Place it inside your cake ring. Brush it generously with the chamomile syrup.
Pipe the chamomile mousse and smooth the top. Refrigerate for about 30 minutes to allow the mousse to set a little.
Pipe the blueberry mousse on top and smooth it. Refrigerate overnight. Unmold the cake, decorate with fresh blueberries and icing sugar and enjoy.

11 responses to “Vacation and a blueberry chamomile cake

  1. oh what a wonderful cake! i m drooling. The photos are amazing ! Bon voyage! have a nice vacation.

  2. TasteStopping

    While my neighbor has a surplus of blueberries (if she picks them before the birds eat them all), I have an abundance of raspberries. Is there any reason that I couldn’t swap out one for the other? Or steal some of her blueberries (blaming it on the birds, of course) to use for the cake, and employ the raspberries for the mousse?

    Anyway, I found you on TasteSpotting and am writing to say that if you have any photos that aren’t accepted there, I’d love to publish them. Visit my new site (below), it’s a lot of fun! I hope you will consider it.

    Best,
    Casey
    Editor
    http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

  3. That cake looks seriously gorgeous! Beautiful colors!

  4. This is an awesome looking cake. The flavours sound so delicious and the pictures are unbelievable.

  5. Looks great. I’ll have to try making this this weekend.

  6. Mi-a lasat gura apa. Arata minunat. Am sa-l incerc si eu. Va pup si vacanta placuta.
    AAAA!!! La Multi Ani!!! la sotior.

  7. bakingobsession

    It looks so light and refreshing!
    Have a wonderful vacation, Anda!

  8. What a great looking cake. I am going to try it this weekend!!

  9. Amazing pictures, the quality is really amazing. I just got my camera, can’t wait to start taking pics like that.

  10. Katalin Vladar

    This is fantastic!!! I am going to make it for my husband’s birthday party!! Thanks a lot. Kati

Leave a Reply

