Lemon and Cardamom Chocolate Mousse Cakes

rose mousse, napoleon, chocolate puff pastry

Time…Why does time constantly become my number one enemy?
I would love to be able to post every day, but something else comes up every time and my “to be blogged” folder increases beyond acceptable limits. Going like this, I will post about strawberry and cherry desserts in the middle of winter.

I had some really full days: first my mom came to visit, then I had my little one’s kindergarten graduation party and on top my tooth works stepped in again (I needed a gum graft and I had surgery on Monday).
The first two events were really awesome and time wouldn’t want to stop there (does it ever listen to anyone?). I looked at my (“not anymore”) little one and I just could not understand when she became the precious missy she is now. My precious baby is now all independent and knows exactly what she wants. At the party they all had to choose a costume to wear. Everybody expected that all the girls would come as fairies or princesses. Wrong expectations :). She was a pirate, a wonderful pirate if I may add.
She loves to be different, she loves to draw attention, she is so like me :).

Another thing we have in common is the love for chocolate (the darker the better) and for cardamom.

rose mousse, napoleon, chocolate puff pastry

For the cake base
I used this recipe and baked it in a 29*38 cm pan.
Freeze the cake as directed and cut out the circles when frozen.

For the lemon mousse

4 g gelatin powder
cold water for the gelatin
310ml milk (either whole or skim or part skim)
1 vanilla bean
3 large egg yolks (50-60 g)
50 g brown sugar
40 g cornstarch
60 ml lemon juice (I used 2 lemons for this)
250 ml whipped cream

In a small bowl put the gelatin and water and let it bloom until you prepare the rest.
Place the milk and the vanilla bean on medium heat and bring to a boil. In the meantime mix the egg yolks and the sugar. Add the cornstarch and mix well. When the milk is boiling, take it off the heat, remove the bean and scrape the seeds in the milk. Slowly pour the milk over the yolks, whisking continuously. Return to low heat and cook until it thickens. At this point add in the lemon juice and cook another 30 seconds or so. Melt the gelatin (in the microwave on LOW or over a pot of boiling water) and immediately add it to the milk – lemon mixture. Let it cool to room temperature, and when cool enough add the whipped cream.

rose mousse, napoleon, chocolate puff pastry

For the chocolate cardamom mousse

This is from the wonderful Aran
3 egg yolks
112 g sugar
30 g honey
60 ml water
85 g cocoa nibs dark chocolate
225 ml whipped cream
4 g gelatin + 30 ml water
1 tsp ground cardamom
Make the pate a bombe (this makes more than you need – around 160 g. I usually make more and refrigerate or freeze it depending when I know I will use it again).
Place the sugar, honey and water into a pan and over medium high heat cook them to 115 C (240 F).
Place the yolks into a clean bowl and whip them until pale. Add the sugar syrup while still beating the yolks. Whip this mixture until it is pale, thick and cool.

Place the gelatin and water in a bowl and let it bloom.
Melt the chocolate over a pot of hot water. Set aside.
Whip the cream and cardamom together – not fully. Melt the gelatin and slowly add it to the cream and whip just until combined.
Measure 56 g from the pate a bombe above and add it to the cream. Them add the melted chocolate and slowly fold it in.

rose mousse, napoleon, chocolate puff pastry

To assemble
Line your pastry rings with parchment paper. Place the cake circle inside the ring. Pipe lemon mousse. Refrigerate for a while until set. Pipe a layer of chocolate mousse and level it. Place in the fridge to settle. Unmold when ready to serve and decorate as you see fit.

9 responses to “Lemon and Cardamom Chocolate Mousse Cakes

  1. oh this looks mouth watering! I love mouse and the cardamon mousse must be so good with chocolate :) awesome!

  2. Cardamom si ciocolata!!!… Da cred ca a iesit bestiala!!! ;)
    Deja mi-e pofta!!

  3. This seems delicious.

  4. Just awesome!

  5. e delicios blogul asta… daca ar sti mai multa lume de el poate nu ar mai avea nevoie de psiholog. ;)
    felicitari!

  6. Mersi de complimente.

  7. nu esti cumva din zalau? fetita din poze – presupun ca e a ta – seamana cu o veche prietena…

  8. Acum stau in Cluj, dar m-am nascut in Galati.

  9. oh my gosh these look amazing. my mouth is watering.

Leave a Reply

