Vanilla or Chocolate or Checkerboard cookies

Back to cookies again. This is a field that I love to experiment with my little C. She loves snacking on mommy’s cookies and sharing them with her kindergarten friends. Her eyes are shinning every single time she takes cookies with her, because they liked them. I am so glad and happy that she learns and likes to share. She understands that many times sharing is more comforting and a lot lovelier than receiving.
The dough is simple to make, but you need time and patience to make them as checkerboards. But with such a cute and anxious assistant and taster you get all the patience you need.

For the dough
742 g flour
4 g baking powder
5 g salt if using unsalted butter
450 g butter
300 g sugar (I used brown)
10 ml vanilla extract
2 eggs (room temperature)
55 g cocoa powder

In a clean bowl, mix the flour, the baking powder and the salt (if using). In a separate bowl, whip the butter and the sugar until creamy and light. Add the eggs (one at a time) whisking well to blend it in completelly. Add the vanilla.
Add the flour mixture and mix to combine. Divide in half (better said, one portion should have 55 grams less). Mix the cocoa in the smaller portion.
Divide each dough in half, wrap in plastic foil and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. It can be kept in the refrigerator for 1 day.
Take out one cocoa and one vanilla package. Roll each dough into rectangles (1.25 cm thick and 30/ 13 cm) – I do the rolling between to pieces of parchment paper (I avoid using flour for the work surface or for the pin to not mess up with the dough pieces sticking together).
Cut each rectangle into 9, 1.25 cm wide strips. Make the base: chocolate strip/ vanilla strip/ chocolate strip. Then for the next layer, place a vanilla strip/ chocolate strip/ vanilla strip. For the third layer repeat the first one. You now have the first log. For the second log: 1st layer – vanilla strip/ chocolate strip/ vanilla strip and so on. Wrap the logs in plastic foil and place in the fridge for at least 1 hour.
Take the rest of the dough packages out of the fridge. Roll them into rectangles (8 mm thick, 30/ 15 cm).
On the vanilla rectangle place the chocolate log (the one with more chocolate strips). Roll the dough around the log, wrap in plastic and refrigerate for 2 hours or overnight. Do the same with the other log.
Preheat the oven to 175 degrees.
Cut the logs into 5 mm thick slices (use either a very sharp knife or a cake cutter). Place them on a backing tray lined with parchment paper. Leave 1.5-2 cm between them. Bake for 12-15 minutes (baking them to long will make the vanilla dough too dark and will ruin the checkerboard effect).

6 responses to “Vanilla or Chocolate or Checkerboard cookies

  1. oh these cookies look so nice! and yummy of course. Ha your assistant is so cute. Wish to have such a cute assistant too :))

  2. I just new I should have clicked through here quicker. I wasn’t even hungry until I hit your page…

  3. This looks like a fun process. I’m stuck in the house with bathroom renovators today, and I think I have everything I need for this recipe in my kitchen already.

    Hmm…. :)

  4. It is really fun. Let me know how they come out.

  5. I am now even more impressed with your perfect checkerboards! I had to use margarine instead of butter in my cookies and I’m sure you can guess the rest. :)

    I blogged the experience with several links to your post.

    Thanks for giving me something to do yesterday!

  6. I visited your blog and I loved the idea of adding chocolate chips to part of the dough. You should really use butter and you’ll see that it is not very difficult to make them in the end.

Leave a Reply

